How to Make a Mean Grilled Cheese

Day 2 of the #blogeverydayinmay challenge is to educate readers on something you I know alot about or are good at.

IMG_0189I told y’all before I make a mean grilled cheese; so let me tell you how (though I am sure you already know).

Things you will need:

Pan

Spatula

Bread

[I love sourdough, but you can use whatever you like; wheat, French, Italian, rye and cinnamon-raisin are some good choices. The bread is an important part of the sandwich, so make it good.]

Butter

[Make sure to use (unsalted) butter (it just tastes the best) at room temperature. If you keep your butter in the fridge like I do, heat up a small amount in the microwave for 10-15 seconds.]

Cheese

[Provolone, cheddar, mozzarella, brie, pepper jack, whatever. But if your slicing the cheese yourself from a block, make sure the slices are thin]

Any additional filling – I used turkey and avocado

[Ham, chicken breast, sprouts, roasted peppers, apples, pears, get creative but don’t over do it.]

Ok, so now the cooking….

  1. Heat your pan to medium heat.
  2. Butter both sides of one piece of bread. If I want to get fancy, I will spread mustard or jam on the inside of the sandwich and butter on the outside. Yum!
  3. Place a slice or slices of cheese on your bread.
  4. On top of the cheese, layer your fillings. I used deli turkey breast and thinly sliced avocado (about ¼ of an avocado).
  5. Top your fillings with another slice or slices of cheese.
  6. Butter both sides of your last piece of bread and place on the top of the sandwich.
  7. Use your spatula to move the sandwich to the pan and cook for 5-7 minutes. Be sure to watch the food so it doesn’t burn.
  8. Flip your sandwich and cook for another 5 minutes (I like to use the spatula to smash the sandwich down a bit).

That’s it! So easy. So delicious.

Blog Every Day in May button

Leave a Reply

