Style Me Friday – Neon and the LBD

Slide1Maybe I am the only one, but neon reminds me of the 1980’s, an era I have fond memories of. Saved by the bell, Purple Rain, Rick James, curly hair, electronic pop music, there are just too many great things about the eighties to list. But when I saw this week’s #stylemefriday, it didn’t invoke any thoughts of the eighties. I guess because the neon elements of Kourtney K’s look are only the accessories, it looks more modern then retro.  In fact everything else worn is black, down to the little clutch she is carrying. I have plenty of black in my closet and figured this is exactly how I would want to wear these old Sole Society shoes.

DSC_0029

After pulling out all of my little black dresses (I only have four), I realized another inspiring thing about Kourtney K’s look. It’s demure. The length of the dress (which is really cute by the way) is right above the knee and the hem has a few layers of feminine ruffles. This was not your black “freak ’em” dress. So I went with a more conservative LBD, but the form-fitting cotton and a neon belt gives a ‘Mad Men’ shape.

DSC_0015Dress, James Perse. Belt, Elle for Kohls.

Because these shoes are so bad-ass, I had to wear a jacket to match. This faux leather jacket from Forever21 lacks practicality but makes up for it in style. Plus my dog, Rocsi, wanted to make an appearance.

DSC_0003These are literally the only neon accessories I have, so this ended up being the perfect challenge. If you like this look check me out on FacebookTwitterInstagramTumblr & Pinterest. Click the #StyleMeFriday button below to check out the other fabulous people who join the link up.

style-me-friday-badge

Slide2

8 thoughts on “Style Me Friday – Neon and the LBD

  1. 2 things Morgan. First, I love the shoes and jacket with this dress (also the colorblocking with the belt and shoes) the shoes are the truth!!!..and Second I love that you got photo bombed by the pooch!!!

  2. Yaaaas! Every week, you SERVE it up, honey! Lol. Love. that. jacket. and those shoes are so cute! I may have to steal this look. I have all the elements I need to make it happen! (I’m still mad about the orange suit, btw)

Leave a Reply

