Style Me Friday – Monochromatic Orange

Slide1Source: google images

Some inspiring women have worn monochromatic orange power suits. So why shouldn’t I? According to the Huffington Post, a new way for women to LEAN IN is to ditch boring, old, basic suits (check out the article, it’s quite inspiring). Considering that trailblazers like Hilary Clinton, Michelle Obama and Solange Knowles have all rocked an orange suit, I think they may be on to something.

DSC_0099This week’s #StyleMeFriday is all about monochromatic color. Instead of matching tonal monochromatic shades in one look, I decided to be a little more bold. Though, I must say that I’m a fan of tonal monochromatic color. It is very inventive and creative how people match similar colors that don’t exactly match but still look sophisticated. Check out some of the inspiration from Fashionista Next Door.

Slide2

Jacket and Pants, still available @ New York and Company. Clutch, Shoedazzle.

But with a power suit, you have to match. I don’t know exactly what compeled me to buy this orange suit but I love the way I look in orange and I definitely didn’t have anything like this in my closet AND it was on sale, so I though, why not? You’d probably be surprised to know that I also bought the matching skirt, basically because I couldn’t decide between pants or a skirt. The best thing about a suit is that all the pieces can be worn separately OR together, which means that you can create many different looks.

DSC_0106Heels, Sole Society.

These heels add the littlest pop of lime green. I was tempted to wear the heels from last week’s #StyleMeFriday, but I like to change it up.

DSC_0120These gorgeous vintage earrings were my grandmother’s. Cascading flowers seems oh so appropriate for spring. Since the earrings are in a subdued color, they add a simple feminine element. But a chunky, collar necklace would work well too. Maybe next time. Click the button below to check out all the wonderful ladies who participated in the #StyleMeFriday link-up.

style-me-friday-badgeHappy Friday and enjoy the weekend!

Slide2

12 thoughts on “Style Me Friday – Monochromatic Orange

  1. omg!

    1. this suit is EVERYTHING…I wonder if it is still available in my size!
    2. those earrings are such a treasure! Love passed down jewels!
    3. How did I miss those shoes on Sole Society?
    4. YOU KILLED THIS CHALLENGE!

Leave a Reply

