Packing for the Caribbean

Packing is an art. While airlines are finding more and more ways to charge customers, I have noticed that more and more people are starting to travel without checking their baggage to avoid additional charges. I have hopped on the same bandwagon as the carry-on only traveler. It started when I got my small 21″ suitcase on wheels.

IMG_0197

This little buddy can fit comfortably in the overhead compartment of an airplane and the hardcase keeps everything protected.

The greatest advice that I have received for packing is to pack your favorite things! Don’t pack new things that you haven’t worn before, but pack the things that you are obsessed with in your closet, so you will be happy with what you are wearing on your trip and because you never want to worry too much about your outfit while traveling.

Here are some things that I must consider before packing:

  • I am going to tropical island! I wil be traveling from a cold climate to a warm, tropical climate, so I have to dress appropriately. Check out the forecast:

Screen Shot 2013-03-10 at 1.23.38 PM

  • My trip to Cayman Islands is purely for pleasure. I am NOT going on business trip and will NOT be attending any formal events. My trip is a fun, casual beach trip and that is clearly reflected in my attire.
  • I will be away for a short 4 days, so I feel that a carry-on sized luggage is more than enough room to carry what I need.

A sure thing is that I want to be comfortable while on the airplane, so I know that I want to wear these bright, blue pants by LC Lauren Conrad on the plane. They are stretchy and feel like jeggings and I thought a tank top will be convient for when I rip off my blazer after arriving to the island. I think that I will wear the striped one from Stylemint on my flight to the island and the heart print tank from Dorothy Perkins on my flight home.

IMG_0236

IMG_0237

Once I decided what I was going to wear on the plane, I had to figure out what I wanted to wear while I was there. I usually bring at least one dress with me when I travel because they are versatile and can be dressed up or down. For this trip, I want dresses that are loose and flowy. I chose this orange number from Stylemint, I love the bright hue and the shark bitten hem.

IMG_0235

I might also bring this high – low hem dress from Forever21. What do you think?

IMG_0232

I’m not sure why, but I neglect these cheetah print leggings from H&M. I love them and thought that they would be fun and comfortable for hanging out. Since they are leggings, I paired them with long length tops both in black and white because I am not sure which one I like more. This white tee is an OLD tee from Anthropologie.

IMG_0239

This black one is from Forever21 and has an exaggerated high-low hem line.

IMG_0238To me, when you go to a tropical climate, you need some shorts. I will be bringing my favorite shorts from American Eagle. I paired them from colorful print tops from Target and Forever21.

IMG_0241 IMG_0240

Bathing suits are a given when traveling to an island. The beach itself is one of the reasons I am going on my trip, so I packed two because I’m fabulous. I absolutely LOVE the pink cheetah print bathing suit from Forever21 and the zebra print one is from Old Navy.

IMG_0245 IMG_0244

This long and flowy dress is really sheer beach coverup. I think the bright pink will go well with the bathing suits.

IMG_0243

 My silver Converse will be wore on the plane, and I will pack coral, braided espadrilles from Sole Society and black thong sandals from Forever21. All of these shoes will go with any of my outfits, plus they are all comfortable!

IMG_0246

Every girl needs accessories and they always seem to be a last minute thought for me when I’m packing. I knew right away that I was going to bring this bright, coral clutch from Shoedazzle, it matches my espadrilles! Black sunglasses from Target are a NECESSITY! I have been really feeling big, dangly earrings, so i grabbed a couple pairs, some post earrings and gold cuffs for when I want to dress up.

IMG_0247

I’m sure your thinking, “whoa, that’s a lot of stuff for four days” and your probably right! I can already tell that I need to edit that jewelry! But here is what I plan on packing in my carry-on for my trip to the Cayman Islands. Do you have any advice for helping a novice traveler on packing? Let me know!

Slide2

3 thoughts on “Packing for the Caribbean

  1. Pingback: Grand Cayman Part II | Lady Morgan [la fey]

Leave a Reply

