Outfit #5 – Pink and Polka Dots

30 x 30 Remix Challenge

Outfit #5

DSC_0009

Top, Stylemint. Skirt, Jason Wu for Target. Tights, NY&Company.

I wish that I had that TGIF excitement that comes at the end of the week, but I have so much work to do. I am taking a trip to visit a friend in the Caribbean on Monday and if I work hard this weekend, I can play hard next week.

I knew right away when I found these pink tights in my closet that I wanted to pair them with the pleated skirt. Colored tights are so popular. From Bohemian to preppy, designers have featured colored tights on their recent New York Fashion Week runways.

Slide1 Slide2

Photos from Style.com

I love how Anna Sui and Kate Spade are such different designers and they both used colored tights to match their aesthetic. Anna Sui is bohemian and eclectic and paired bold tights with complimentary bold colored clothing. Kate Spade is preppy and ladylike, she matched a pink skirt with red and purple tights. Who would of thought? They offer some fabulous inspiration on how to pair bold tights with other bold colored clothing and accessories.

DSC_0034

Boots, Aldo.

These boots are comfortable and look just like Isabel Marant Bobby sneakers. You can see the comparison from The Flower Girl. She is trying to sell her pair.

DSC_0032

Belt, Dorothy Perkins. Bracelet, Jewelmint. Pinky Ring, ASOS.

I didn’t go the bold route, the tights were the only bold statement I made with my outfit. A gold belt and jewelry were the finishing touches.

DSC_0031

Bag, Cynthia Rowley.

Check out my Pinterest board dedicated to tropical getaways. It has serves as inspiration for my trip. There are useful pins on how to pack, the many uses of a scarf and much more. Lately, I have been obsessed with pinning white blazers and the perfect airport outfit.

Screen Shot 2013-02-15 at 6.46.22 PM

Check back tomorrow for outfit #6.

Leave a Reply

