How to Get Smooth, Kissable Lips

No one likes dry lips, but it’s hard to avoid in cold weather. With the winter winds storming, it’s imparative to have easy remedies on hand for dry and flaky lips. Check out one of my favorite ways to keep my lips smooth with a homemade lip scrub.

You don’t have to stick to my recipe, you can trade olive oil for coconut oil, almond oil, vitamin E oil or grapeseed oil. You can also replace regular sugar with brown sugar or baking soda. Either way, you will get smooth lips and you won’t worry about accidentally swallowing anything.

Most lipsticks and glosses are not moisturizing enough for me and dry lips can be so uncomfortable, so I always make sure I have lip balm in my bag. The Burt’s Bees lip balm I featured in the video is a favorite. I always have some on hand, plus it is super affordable.

lipbalm-1

Another popular pick are the Sugar lip balms from Fresh. The Sugar rose [left] has a LIGHT pink tint that isn’t overwhelming on any skin tone and the original lip balm [middle] is clear. I got a chance to try these last year when Sephora featured the Fresh Sugar lip balms as their VIB birthday gift. Unfortunately, I find that the balms are so soft that they can easily break. They are not meant to HEAL dry lips, and are better purposed to moisturize already smooth lips.

Another favorite of mine is Waxelene.

lipbalm-2

Like the Burt’s Bees lip balm, Waxelene is also made of beeswax. In fact, it only has 4 ingredients and this jar has lasted forever considering I use this 3 to 4 times a day.

lipbalm-3

If you want some more tips on how to keep you tips kissable soft, check out this article from WebMD which has some great tips on ingredients to avoid and event tackles the notion of a lip balm ‘addiction’.

6 thoughts on “How to Get Smooth, Kissable Lips

  1. Pingback: Summer Skincare Essentials – Face | Lady Morgan [la fey]

Leave a Reply

